12 BEST QUOTES FROM SHAKESPEAREAN PLAYS

12. “Men at some time are masters of their fates” -Cassius

Julius Caesar (Act I, Scene II)

Caesar-the-Fixeredited.jpg

 

11. “Conscience is but a word that cowards use, devised at first to keep the strong in awe.” –King Richard III

Richard III (Act V, Scene III)

Hogarth,_William_-_David_Garrick_as_Richard_III_-_1745edited.jpg

 

10. “The course of true love never did run smooth”-Lysander 

A Midsummer Night’s Dream ( Act I, Scene I)

2de6b973aca7860aa0030debfdc3e51eedited.jpg

9. “My bounty is as boundless as the sea, My love as deep; the more I give to thee, the more I have, for both are infinite.” -Juliet

Romeo and Juliet ( Act II, Scene II)

lead_largeedited.jpg

8. “The miserable have no other medicine but only hope” –Claudio

Measure for Measure (Act III, Scene I)

normaledited.jpg

7. “But love is blind, and lovers cannot see the pretty follies that themselves commit” –Jessica

The Merchant of Venice (Act II, Scene VI)

Shylock-Jessica-by-Thomas-Gray-1868-660x350-1427101026edited.jpg

6. “Have more than you show, speak less than you know, lend less than you owe” -King Lear

King Lear (Act I, Scene IV)

Frank-Langella-and-Isabella-Laughland-in-KING-LEAR-at-BAM.edited.jpg

 

5. “The devil can cite Scripture for his purpose.
An evil soul producing holy witness is like a villain with a smiling cheek” –Antonio

Merchant of Venice (Act I, Scene III)

004TMV_Jeremy_Irons_018edited.jpg

4. “Uneasy lies the head that wears a crown.” –King Henry

Henry IV (Act III, Scene I)

17ARTSNJ1-jumboedited.jpg

3. “Our doubts are traitors and make us lose the good we oft might win, by fearing to atempt” -Lucio

Measure for Measure (Act I, Scene IV)

Measure3edited.jpg

2. “To thine own self be true, and it must follow, as the night the day,

thou canst not then be false to any man.” –Polonius

Hamlet ( Act I, Scene III)

Hamlet_stabs_Poloniusedited.jpg

1. “Cowards die many times before their deaths. The valiant never taste of death but once.” -Julius Caesar

 Julius Caesar (Act II, Scene II)

ask-history-what-are-the-ides-of-march-Eedited.jpg


photos taken from google

 

 

Leave a Reply

